Starting my Web Development Journey (Day 0 - 11)

Day 0

When I think about web developers or software engineers, I think about those extremely smart people who seem to be born with a gift of some sort. This is not the case. It is with determination and a lot of work that these people can call themselves developers. Over the past couple of years, I have taken a few free courses and even enrolled in a coding Bootcamp to dive right into web development and I've discovered that it is way more intensive than I originally thought it would be. At the time of attending the Bootcamp, I felt overwhelmed and thought web development was not right for me, and so I dropped out. I've always regretted that decision since I couldn't put in any effort and become disciplined enough to stick through it. In these past few weeks, I decided to get back into coding because I feel more determined than ever and knowing what I know now, can let myself make mistakes and grow from them.

Day 1 - 5

In my first week of learning web development, I started with the basics. HTML & CSS. HTML (HyperText Markup Language) is the backbone of a website and it's what you use to structure your page. The page will end up looking very basic but you can do so much more with HTML that I've learned. You can make sure that your page is accessible and can be found with SEO. You can also build forms on your page which can collect user data.

Through this period I learned the basics of HTML. Boilerplate, tags, elements, semantic HTML, lists, and much more. Just creating a boilerplate and setting up a document to be displayed on my local machine is always fun. It's like a canvas for me to start painting.

Day 6 - 11

Then we get into CSS (Cascading Style Sheets). CSS is like all the cool clothes you put on to dress how you feel. It brings color to your page and can be used to create amazing visuals. It can also be used to position elements on your page and you can use flexbox or grid to make sure you move things around your page just how'd you like it.

Through this period I learned how to style my web pages with CSS. How to select elements by their names or with classes and IDs. I also learned about typography, color, the box model, and positioning, flexbox, grid, and responsive design. Waiting to learn more advanced CSS with animation, transitioning, and pseudo-selectors. Specifically ::before and ::after.

I'm excited to learn more and improve my skills in web development and software development.